The results from Ireland have made an important impact on the overall wave
rankings for the year. The battle for the 2001 Wave World Champion was very
tough this year, and at the end it was once again Bjoern Dunkerbeck E-11 who
showed his
unbelievable windsurfing skills and became Wave World Champion 2001 although
the North Sails team rider Vidar Jensen N-44 was close to get to the top, leading
the fleet until the final event in Ireland – he suffered disappointment after
being beaten by Robby Swift (JP Neil Pryde) of England in the second round.
The defeat meant that he dropped from first down to fourth overall.. Kevin Pritchard
finished second, while Jason Polakow, who missed the first event of the year
due to injury but then scored two victories (Sylt and Ireland), finished 3rd.


1. Bjoern Dunkerbeck E-11 (WAVE WORLD CHAMPION 2001)
2. Kevin Pritchard US 3
3. Jason Polakow KA 1111
4. Vidar Jensen N 44
5. Peter Volwater H 24


In the women’s,
her second place in Ireland was enough for Daida Moreno to clinch the women’s
overall wave title for the second year running, with Karen Jaggi hot on her
heels in second and Iballa Moreno taking third.

1. Daida Ruano Moreno E 64 (WAVE WORLD CHAMPION 2001)
2. Karin Jaggi Z 14
3. Iballa Ruano Moreno E 63


There are 0 comments. Add yours. Hide them.