Windsurfing Magazine




The Jeep Hawaii Pro – 28th March to the 4th April.

The PWA (Professional Windsurfers Association) is heading home again for the second annual PWA Hawaii Pro. The event will be held at the legendary Hookipa Beach Park on the beautiful island of Maui, Hawaii. All the top professional windsurfers in the world will be competing on the second stop of the 2005 PWA World Tour.

The world’s elite wavesailors annually gather at Hookipa to battle it out at the world’s most famous wavesailing break. Past winners at Hookipa include Jason Polakow, Nik Baker, Robby Naish, Bjorn Dunkerbeck, Rush Randle and Dave Kalama. To join this elite list of Maui winners is probably the ultimate goal of every sailor on the PWA Wave Tour.

PWA Marketing Manager Rich Foster says: “Jeep has acquired the title sponsorship of one of the most prestigious events on the 2005 PWA World Tour. We are very excited to be working with a prestigious company that is the Jeep (Chrysler Group) and we look forward to welcoming everyone to Maui, Hawaii in March.”

Jeep will be displaying the entire trail rated 2005 models at the event; test drives will also be available during the duration of the event. Freedom, authenticity, mastery and the capability to go anywhere are the hallmarks of the Jeep brand worldwide. It is a reputation earned during more than six decades of SUV leadership. The launch last year of the award-winning Jeep Grand Cherokee, Jeep Liberty CRD (“Clean Running Diesel”) and Jeep Wrangler Unlimited represented new models and expansion of the Jeep brand. Later this year, Jeep continues to grow with the introduction of the Jeep Commander, an all-new three-row SUV. Jeep Trail Rated communicates the legendary Jeep capability that is designed into every Jeep 4×4. As the brand’s lineup expands, Jeep vehicles will continue to be what they have always been — the most capable.

This years Jeep® Hawaii Pro is all set up to be a classic event with a prestigious line up which includes current Wave Champion Australian wave guru Scott McKercher (Starboard), Maui local Josh Angulo, Brazilian samba sensation Kauli Seadi (AHD, Naish), 2004 Hawaii Pro winner Jason Polakow (JP, Neil Pryde), Francisco Goya of Argentina, Britain’s Nik Baker (Mistral, North) and Kevin Pritchard (Starboard, MauiSails). Many sailors will have to qualify for the main event during a one-day trial event to be held on the 29th March. To date the women’s fleet has attracted 18 entries which includes last years winner Motoko Sato from Japan, 2004 Wave World Champion Daida Moreno (Mistral, North), Karin Jaggi (F2) Iballa Moreno (Mistral, North) Anne Marie Reichman (Naish), Jennifer Henderson (Starboard) and Colette Guadagnino (Starboard).

Event Sponsors: Jeep, Da Kine, Hawaii Tourism Authority, Neil Pryde Maui.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.