Irish Windsurfing Association Wavesailing Championships - Round 3

In moderate gusty winds and head high waves, Garretstown beach, Co. Cork set the scene for a fine display of waveriding skills. A full fleet of sailors made the most of the conditions, to complete a single round of competition, despite occasional pauses in the running due to gusty winds. In this event sailors were judges in 4 man heats by a panel of judges, who awarded points for the windsurfers style of riding waves, much like a 'regular' surfer. As the winds were too inconsistent, no scoring for jumping was possible.

For the first time ever, the 'Fun fleet' also equalled the size of the 'Gold Fleet', showing promise for future events as the development of the sport improves.

Defending Irish Wavesailing and Freestyle Champion Oisin van Gelderen (Dublin), kept his chances alive for this years Championships, by taking the win on Saturday. This was an important result, as going into the event, he was trailing in 2nd behind Finn Mullen (lurgan), the winner of the previous Round in Achill last month. As both now have a first and a second place to count on their score cards, they currently share joint 1st place overall on the ranking list. This makes the final Round in Belmullet, Co. Mayo (Oct Bank Holiday weekend) even more important, as whoever comes out on top, will be crowned Irish Wavesailing Champion for 2005. Belmullet traditionally produces the biggest waves and strongest winds of the entire series at that time of year, so stay tuned for an interesting end to the year !

For more information on Irish Windsurfing, go to

Event Results, Top 5:

Gold Fleet 1st Oisin van Gelderen (JP/Neil Pryde) 2nd= Finn Mullen (Severne) 2nd= Rob Crean (Severne) 4th Jeff Cochrane (AHD/Neil Pryde) 5th Pearse Geaney

Ladies Fleet: 1st Noelle Doran (JP/Neil Pryde) 2nd Anna Ryan 3rd Maureen Johnston

Fun Fleet: 1st= Mark Colaci 1st= Mark Killeen 3rd= David Norman 3rd= John McCurdy 5th= Johnathan Sykes 5th= Colin Shanahan

Current IWA Wavesailing Championships Rankings, Top 5: 1st= Oisin van Gelderen 1st= Finn Mullen 3rd Rob Crean 4th Jeff Cochrane 5th Gwilym Williams