ISA Speedsurfing Grand Prix Karpathos 2006 - Day 1

The first Karpathian Speedsurfing Grand Prix saw a perfect kickoff yesterday with four divisions racing for the victory. In the end, Bjorn Dunkerbeck (AND, North) got the bullet in front of Finian Maynard (BVI, F2) and Patrik Diethelm (ITA, F2, North). The womens fleet is lead by Karin Jaggi (SUI, F2, North) who was able to leave Marion Raisi (FRA, Exocet) and Nicoletta Margoni (GRE, F2) behind.

The racing area, directly situated in the Devils Bay on Karpathos, surprised the competitors from the 16 participating countries with winds around 6 beaufort and perfectly flat water, which already allowed for speeds closely reaching 40 knots. As the wind will pick up during the next days, spectacular action is expected.

The night before the first racing day the competiors were welcomed on the island of Karpathos with a great open air reception, combining traditional music and dance with modern parts and fantastic fireworks.

Racing continues until the 31st of August, with the fleet split into gold and silver again to allow for another two rounds today.