Ed Sinclair reports from the final day of the 2011 Pura Vida Cornwall Wave Classic.

Having been treated to an extra hour in bed due to the clocks going back, the sailors had just enough time to freshen up after last nights epic monster ball party hosted by the Sandsifter café.

Beaming sunshine shone down on Gwithian beach whilst mast-and-a-half high waves pounded the shore throughout the day, but yesterday's wind was nowhere to be seen. The judges placed the sailors on standby with high hopes of finishing the double eliminations, however the wind failed to materialise therefore leaving the results unchanged.

Never one to sit back and relax Chris ‘Muzza’ Murray was first to pick up his surfboard to take on the extreme waves and keep the crowds entertained, but Mother Nature quickly got the better of him.

With the competition called off at 3pm all that was left to do was crown the event winners and the 2011 tour champions.

The 2011 Cornwall Wave Classic results:

Pro Fleet

1st Jamie Hancock

2nd Ben Proffitt

3rd Timo Mullen

4th Adam Lewis


1st Lucy Robson

2nd Sarah Bibby

3rd Jo Wright

4th Arthur


1st Luke Raistrick

2nd Tom Bennett-Lloyd

3rd Matt Cox


1st Lloyd

2nd Dines

3rd Overington

4th Cox

The 2011 Cornwall wave classic witnessed a record number of competitors make there way down to Gwithian beach and also made the fourth and final stop on the 2011 BWA tour, therefore all the points are in and the 2011 champions have been crowned, results to follow shortly here and at www.britishwavesailingassociation.com

The Cornwall Wave Classic is sponsored by Franklin & Marshall, hosted by Pura Vida Boardriders and the BWA, with support from No Limitz Masts, RB sails and Sandsifter, with thanks to the National Trust and Duchy of Cornwall.

Here's the official BWA pic gallery of the weekend...