The Corona Extra PWA World Cup ’07 – Final Day

Kauli Seadi’s crowned 2007 world wave sailing champion in Scotland after a frantic final day’s action to round-off an all-time PWA season.

Kauli's champion style

Josh Angulo makes 3rd overall

Patience, nerve and faith were fully tested today after a long week waiting for the conditions to come together.

But those with deep conviction were finally rewarded when Tiree coughed-up clean swell and enough wind to let official competition commence.

The morning round of spot checks confirmed the sandy bay at Balevullin was the place to be, and so the officials wasted no time in setting a long heat duration with just one wave to count.

Solid logo high glassy surf rolled in fanned by a fluky cross offshore breeze. Initially many found it impossible to get out through the punchy inside sections, and many early heats were cancelled.

The pressure increased as the day went on and the chances of achieving a counting result before sunset diminished.

With the race against time on, the first round eventually ran through and the focus turned to the top seeds wrestling for the title and the remaining podium contenders.

Tour runner-up Victor Fernandez (Fanatic / Simmer) faced a daunting challenge of having to defeat Seadi in a possible quarter-final match, and had to win the event outright in order to deny Tour leader Kauli Seadi (Quatro / Naish) his second championship crown.

6 of the remaining top 10 riders were in contention for third overall, and all bar one advanced to the third round and subsequently into the prize money.

With a top-16 now defined the organiser could breathe a sigh of relief that Tiree had produced enough championship points to count towards the series.

However as daylight faded so did Fernandez’s hopes of slaying Seadi. The 23-yr from Almeria could only watch as the first heat of round 3 was cancelled and the head judge called-off the contest and ended his chances of victory.

After the points were added up the third and final podium place was awarded to Josh Angulo of Cabo Verde.

With two event wins apiece Seadi and Fernandez have fought one of the closest and most fascinating victories in years.

The 2007 title holds great significance as it can boast perhaps the most worthy champion in several seasons.

The PWA has visited a wealth of exciting new locations and the wave tour has added three superb new stops to test the elite of windsurfing like never before.

Tiree was a groundbreaking addition to the circuit with its mobile format and unique island setting. The spirit of windsurfing, good sportsmanship and the fantastic lifestyle our sport provides were perfectly exhibited here alongside a magnificent Scottish welcome.

Our special thanks go to the event organisers GMF Co of Glasgow, Event Scotland, Corona Extra, the volunteer crew and of course the Islanders of Tiree for their hard work and hospitality, and congratulations to Kauli, Victor and Josh.

2007 Overall Results

1. Kauli Seadi (Quatro / Naish) 2. Victor Fernandez (Fanatic /Simmer) 3. Josh Angulo 4. Nik Baker (Mistral / North) 5. Kevin Pritchard (Starboard /MauiSails) 6. Levi Siver (Starboard / NeilPryde) 7. Jason Polakow (JP / NeilPryde) 8. Vidar Jensen (North) 9. Julien Taboulet (F2 / Naish) 10. Ross Williams (Tabou / Gaastra)

To review the event be sure to log on to to:

• View the elimination ladders • Check the results • Watch amazing video action clips • Read the daily news summaries • Browse awesome action photo galleries

You can find out more about the location at and read blogs and view video diaries from competitors and visitors at