The 2009 Speed Windsurfing World Championships will be held at the Club Mistral Center, Devils bay, Karpathos, Greece, from 31.07. till 05.08.2009.
The event is way over subscribed with more than 30 people on the waiting list. Not surprising though with 25000 Euros of prize money and the World championship title at stake. Top names confirmed as starting from the the speed windsurfing scene are Bjorn Dunkerbeck multiple record holder, Antoine Albeau current Windsurfing speed world record holder, Finian Maynard Previous world record holder, and in the Women's fleet Valerie Ghibaudo currently ranked no 1, Karin Jaggi current Women's Windsurfing world record holder, and our own Zara Davis ranked No 2 and World Mile record holder.
The Competition will be fierce at this now well established venue testing the riders skills in very strong winds - a force 10 was recorded in the 2008 event!.
Follow the action on line at from the 31st
We're told Zara thinks that she has a good chance of winning this year especially with her new 2009 Simmer race sails and Mistral boards.
Good luck to you!