Gabriel Browne wins 2009 Fortaleza Formula Grand Prix - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Gabriel Browne wins 2009 Fortaleza Formula Grand Prix

With 2 races on the final day of the Fortaleza Grand Prix it was all to play for. The overnight lead held by Alberto Menegatti (ITA-4) all but evaporated with a disastrous first race on the final morning, when he finished 10th. It was a race that Gabriel Browne (BRA-50) led from start to finish. It would take a minor miracle in race 15 for Alberto to regain the overall lead – a reversal of positions in the previous race would do it! Alberto led at the start – and ‘Biel’ was down the fleet ; however the young Brazilian fought back to take first place on the last leg of the race. What a finish. Alberto had to be content with second place in the race, and second overall in the event. A consistent performance from Steve Allen (AUS0) and a third place in the final race ensured he took the final place on the podium.

FW Ranking after Fortaleza GP

1 Alberto Menegatti ITA-456 184.5

2 Gabriel Browne BRA-50 176

3 Steve Allen AUS-0 169.5

4 Jesper Vesterstrom DEN-111 162

5 Wilhelm Schurmann BRA-999 161

6 Wojtek Brzozowski POL-10 160.5

7 Paulo dos Reis BRA-3333 157

8 Ross Williams GBR-83 150.5

9 Dennis Littel NED-13 122

10 Przemek Miarczynski POL-126 118


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.