Adecco Asian Windsurfing Tour, Presented by Fosters.

Results: The Amslam at Mana Mana, Bintan, Indonesia.

15-18 January 2002.

This year the Mana Mana Amslam, part of the Adecco Asian Windsurfing Tour

was blessed with the best wind conditions ever for this event. On each race

day winds were well over 20 knots with wind strengths peaking in some races

between 28 to 30 knots. These were ideal conditions for returning champion

Robbie Radis (KA 82) to go storming round the slalom circuit (see pics)

chased by a strong Thai Team of Bo Ruamsap (THA1) and the racing Sakulfaeng

identical twins (Kookiat THA39 & Khianrai THA11). Top attending Singapore

racers were Andrew Foo (SIN60) and Rachel Ng (sin37). Most were well tuned

after having raced the Malaysian leg of the tour, in Kuantan, the preceding


With a fleet of forty one competitors from ten countries the Amslam

consisted of the usual two disciplines of Slalom and Speed Dash events and,

for the second year, the Fosters Forward Loop contest. The stronger winds

this year meant many were struggling for control on sails a little too big

for comfort but nobody was complaining!

In each race (mass starts), the leading pack was pretty much dominated by

Radis; the Thai team; Singapores Andrew Foo and seasoned campaigners

Sukhdev Sing (MY11), Jonathan Ho and Ben Junior. If some competitors were

spooked by seeing what seemed to be the same guy passing them, yet again,

they could be forgiven, as Amslam had another set of identical twins racing

this year, the Buchanan brothers. Although on borrowed equipment, they

finished just outside the top ten but promised to return next year to make

a serious challenge. Thai twins watch out!

The ladies enjoyed their own private battle, with returning ladies champion

Rachel Ng from Singapore and fellow nationals Catherine Chua, Deborah Khoo,

Chan wee Goon and Amslam regular (windsuring writer) Nahoko Wakimoto from


The oldest competitor in the event was Grand Master Joseph Lee (Uncle Jo)

at a very fit 68 years of age, with a physique that would put many

youngsters to shame.

Three competitors joined the Fosters Forward Loop contest on the Friday.

They were Robbie Radis and Mana Manas Pete Ho and Richard Phipers. Waves

were a little inconsistent in the jump zone but the favourite Radis, pulled

off the best attempt in the ten minute heat. Richard Phipers and Pete Ho,

entering this contest for the first time, deserved credit for their

fearless attempts at throwing forwards.

With flat out racing everyday, after the morning briefing by race director

Klaus Michel, a total of eight Speed Dash and seven Slalom heats were run

during the four days of competition. Overall winner of Amslam 2003 was

Robbie Radis with Kookiat Sakulfaeng second and Bo Ruamsap third. Ladies

was won by Rachel Ng; Masters by Peter Ho; and Grand Masters, for the

second time, by Richard Toh. Congratulations to all the winners.

Party mode was a little more on the back burner this year, as most were

nursing aching bodies and bruised egos reliving huge catapults and other

misadventures in this years testing conditions. Nevertheless the

traditionalClub Med night, mid point in the event, was enjoyed by all, with

hungry competitors pillaging its sprawling buffet and revelling in the

evenings entertainment.

Mana Mana wishes to thank all those who came to compete, officiate and film

the event. We would also like to say a special thank you to sponsors

Adecco, Fosters, NeilPryde, Lava, Quiksilver and Action Asia for their most

appreciated support in these difficult times; Club Med for another

memorable evening; and Nirwana Gardens and Bintan Resort Ferries for their

assistance. We hope all will be with us again next January 2004, which will

be a special 10th anniversary Amslam. See you all then.

Pictures are courtesy of Proteus and well be posting some by Hiroshi Usami

and others, as they become available. Amslam 2003 (half hour show) will be

broadcast on Star Sports Asia in April, as well as 100 other countries

around the world during the course of the year.

SLALOM RESULTS OPEN (Overall Event Winners for AWT Tour Results)

1ST Robbie Radis - Australia

2nd Kookiat Sakulfaeng - Thailand

3rd Ruamsap Phanuthat - Thailand

4th Khiankrai Sakulfaeng - Thailand

5th Andrew Foo - Singapore

Slalom Results - Ladies

1st Rachel Ng - Singapore

2nd Catherine Chua - Singapore

3rd Deborah Khoo - Singapore

Slalom Results - Masters

1st Peter Ho - Singapore

2nd Ben Junior - Singapore

3rd Leslie Kuek - Singapore

Slalom Results Grand Masters

1st Richard Toh

Speed Dash - Open

1st Robbie Radis - Australia

2nd Kookiat Sakulfaeng - Thailand

3rd Ruamsap Phanuthat - Thailand

Speed Dash - Ladies

1st Rachel Ng - Singapore

2nd Deborah Khoo - Singapore

3rd Nahoko Wakimoto - Japan

Speed Dash - Masters

1st Peter Ho - Singapore

2nd Ben Junior - Singapore

3rd Leslie Kuek Singapore

Speed Dash Grand Masters

1st Richard Toh Singapore