Irish Bic Sport Cup Finals - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Irish Bic Sport Cup Finals

The Irish Bic Sport Cup Finals took place last week in Oysterhaven Activity
Centre Co.Cork. The competition now in its third year consisted of 3 events
held in Galway, Dublin and Cork. 35 competitors battled it out for the junior
and youth titles throughout the year.

The competition allows kids from 8 years to compete. The U-17, U-15 and U-12
fleets use Bic Technos while the U-19 fleet is an open fleet, allowing the use
of formula gear.

Once again Bic Sport Irl. Provided 12 Bic Technos to be used throughout the
season. National Coach Jeff Cochrane was on hand to teach the sailors. Cathal
Kavanagh (Rusheen Bay Windsurfing) set up the competition in 1999 to encourage
younger people to compete. The success of the competition was evident at this
year’s Formula Youth World Championships where a team of six Irish lads took

2001 Results
1. Daniel Hanberry
2. Danny Mulryan
3. Nathan Connolly

U-19 Formula
1. Maurice Owens
2. Daniel Hanberry
3. Danny Mulryan

U-17 Formula
1. Nathan Connolly
2. Greg Hanberry
3. Gwilym Williams

1st Techno Joe Gallagher

Ladies Techno
1. Aoife Reid
2. Ailbhe McDermott

U-15 Techno
1. Nigel Plummer

U-12 Techno
1. Ronan McGuire


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.