News

Jager Stone Interviewed About 2011

After a year with his head in the books, Gunfire caught up with the Severne team rider Jager Stone for a beer and a chat about his PWA events in  Pozo and Tenerife…

For the record where did you place?
9th Pozo, 3rd Tenerife

So where did that leave you in the rankings at the end of the tour ?
After those two I was 8th, but I missed the last two events, so I finished 19th overall.

What was the reason you didn’t go the last two events in Klitmoller and Sylt?
I’m studying Physiotherapy, so at the moment that’s kind of my main priority.

How does your result in Tenerife rate personally in your windsurfing Career so far?
It’s my best result so far. I got to the final in the single elimination against Philip Koster, our wave riding was really close, and that’s my strong point I think, but he beat me with his jump scores.

Koster beat you in the single final, but who are some of the big names you knocked out in your other heats?
My first heat was Scotty…haha, and then the next big guy I had was Alex Mussolini who’s a local in Tenerife, then last years world champ Victor Fernandez, and Danny Bruch who lives there as well.

So after the presentations in Tenerife how many cans of Soda did you drink?
Um….well, Tenerife I don’t really remember.
It was a pretty big night that night, there was just a big tent party and beers over there are only one Euro, so it’s just ridiculous. Everyone’s bringing you beers all the time and a few of the judges were feeding me some really strong drinks too. I think I was tripping over walls and ringing wrong doorbells at 2am.

Who did you travel with?
I traveled with Ben Severne and Simon Hurrey from Severne sails, and Terry North from Kinetic IT. These guys were basically my caddies and helped me out a lot and looked after me. Thanks boys!

How important is it to travel with the right people for tour events?