Red Bull Rockets Gran Canaria 2011 – Preview - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Red Bull Rockets Gran Canaria 2011 – Preview

Philip Koster, by Sebastian Schoffel

Las Salinas de Pozo Izquierdo, in the town of Santa Lucía (Gran Canaria), will turn again into the epicenter of windsurfing world this month. The first edition of Red Bull Rockets arrives in the Canary Islands along with the best riders in the planet, who will delight thousands of fans under optimal wind conditions.

The competition will be held between June 24th and June 30th in a single day, which will be chosen two days in advance to guarantee the best conditions. From June 24th till June 30th updated information may be found daily in

For the first time in Spain, Red Bull Rockets brings the 16 best national and international riders together in a competition where the winner won’t be decided by a panel of judges. This time the rider who achieves the biggest jump of all will be determined by a measuring system based on real-time 3D motion tracking technology.

Every rider will have a tracking device like this in the arm, what will ensure full objectivity in the results. It has been designed by, which has brought this kind of technology to a new high by allowing the data to be sent live.

The world top riders will fight for the prize in the striking location of Las Salinas de Pozo Izquierdo, in Gran Canaria (Spain). Pozo Izquierdo, where winds might blow up to 50 knots in the dates of the competition, is an emblematic spot of the windsurfing scene, as several trials of the world championship have been taking place there for more than 25 years.

This location has hardened many heroes of this category, such as Björn Dunkenberg or Philip Köster. Köster himself will be one of the Red Bull Rockets contenders, as well as Víctor Fernández, the current windsurfing world champion. This is the full list of the riders in Red Bull Rockets competition:

1. Philip Köster (GERMANY)
2. Víctor Fernández (SPAIN)
3. Kauli Seadi (BRAZIL)
4. Jonás Ceballos (SPAIN)
5. Darío Ojeda (SPAIN)
6. Kai Lenny (USA)
7. Eleazar Alonso (SPAIN)
8. Marcilio Browne (BRAZIL)
9. Ricardo Campello (VENEZUELA)
10. Yannick Anton (FRANCE)
11. Danny Bruch (SPAIN)
12. Klaas Voget (GERMANY)
13. Robby Swift (UK)
14. Josep Pons (SPAIN)
15. Marcos Pérez (SPAIN)
16. Bryan Pérez (USA)

Besides the prize for the biggest jump, there will be another prize for the best trick and a third consolation prize for the best wipeout, and both will be determined by a panel of windsurf experts.

More at


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.