The 2009 Formula Windsurfing Grand Prix World Tour drew to a successful conclusion recently at the Wind Brasil Fortaleza GP. A third place in the final event of the World Tour was enough for Steve Allen (AUS-0) to take the Tour title; crowning a fantastic year that also saw him regain the World title in Santa Pola, Spain.

Ross Williams (GBR-83) improved his overall position in the tour by one place - finishing 2nd this year. Alberto Menegatti (ITA-4) will be pleased with his consistent performances, posting a well deserved 3rd place. Fourth and fifth, holding their positions from 2008, were Jesper Vesterstrom (DEN-111) and Wilhelm Schurmann (BRA-999)

Congratulations to all the competitors who participated in this year's tour events - 135 racers.

Thanks to the tour event organisers and their sponsors

Polish Windsurfing Association,, and the city of Leba.

SKZ Sopot Club and the town of Sopot.

Wind Brasil, Arrow Marketing, Brasilian Tourism, Illhabela and the City of Fortaleza.

Negotations are under way for an expanded Grand Prix Tour in 2010, meanwhile relive the best moments of the 2009 series at

2009 Final Rankings

1st Steve Allen

2nd Ross Williams

3rd Alberto Menegatti

4th Jesper Vesterstrom

5th Wilhelm Schurmann

6th Gabriel Browne

7th Wojciech Brzozowski

8th Paulo Dos Reis

9th Dennis Littel

10th Gonzalo Costa Hoevel

Full results: