LANZAROTE PWA GRAND SLAM - DAY 3 - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine




Cyril Moussilmani jumps. Pic: PWA/Williams

The 2005 Lanzarote PWA Grand Slam – Day 3

Tuesday July 12, 2005

More info on this event: Event Preview| Event Summary| Event Results| Photo Gallery

lz05_Junko ready for race
Courtesy of PWA/Alex Williams

Cyril Moussilmani (F-71, Fanatic) takes his first 2005 Lanzarote Super X victory by winning round # 3 in a high tension final leaving Matt Pritchard (US-10, Tabou/ Gaastra) behind in the very last moment. Pritchard got his revenge though by winning the fourth round. In the ladies fleet, it was another good day for Junko Nagoshi (J-11), who won round # 3 and Karin Jaggi who took the fourth round.

The riders were right on the edge today, some a bit too much resulting in several recalls as sailors went over the starting line early. When all was said and done, the final of round 3 featured Victor Fernandez (E-42, Fanatic), Tonky Frans (NB-7, F2/ Gaastra), Cyril Moussilmani (F-71, Fanatic), Kevin Pritchard (US-3, Starboard/ MauiSails), Kevin Mevissen (H-79, JP/ Neil Pryde), Matt Pritchard (US-10, Tabou/ Gaastra), Nik Baker (K-66, Mistral/ North), Taty Frans (NB-9, Starboard/ MauiSails), Ricardo Campello (V-111, JP/ Neil Pryde) and Kauli Seadi (BRA-253, Quatro/ Naish).

First to round buoy number 1 was Cyril Moussilmani, followed by Matt Pritchard and Kevin Pritchard. Taty Frans misjudged the first jump and went down hard. After the first spocks and the second buoy, Moussilmani was still in the lead with Matt Pritchard right on his tail. Nik Baker had advanced to the third slot followed by Tonky Frans and Victor Pritchard breathing down his neck, Tonky Frans in third and Kevin Pritchard in fourth. Then it was down to the final leg, where the spock can either make or brake the riders. Moussilmani went first and crashed. Pritchard was up next, going down as well as did Tonky Frans. Kevin Pritchard showed the rest how it’s done and stuck his spock, rushing right after Moussilmani and his brother Matt. After going down, the Frenchman managed to recover fast enough to maintain his lead and took the heat before Matt Pritchard, Kevin Pritchard, Victor Fernandez and Taty Frans.

In the round 3 women’s final, it was between Daida Moreno (E-64, Mistral/ North), Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North), Astrid Muldoon (F-2, JP/ Neil Pryde), Uli Hoelzl (AUT-123, F2/ Neil Pryde), Frida Wiraeus (S-93), Karin Jaggi (Z-14, F2), Junko Nagoshi (J-11), Nayra Alonso (E-4, Fanatic/ Severne), Silvia Alba (E-67, Tabou/ Gaastra) and Ivana Gomes de Farias (BRA-770, Naish).

lz05_Daida & Iballa
Courtesy of PWA/Alex Williams

The first jump spelled trouble for Daida Moreno. As she went down, Junko Nagosi took advantage by taking the lead before Iballa Moreno, Karin Jaggi, Astrid Muldoon and Silvia Alba. After rounding the second mark, Nagoshi was still ahead of everyone else, but Jaggi had moved up into second place, Alba in third, Daida Moreno was back in fourth and Muldoon in fifth. Both Jaggi and Daida opted for the forward on the second possible leg, slowing them down on their way to the third buoy. Nagoshi was sailing fast and maintain her top position with Alba right behind her. Iballa Moreno was back in the top three again before Daida in fourth and Muldoon in fifth. At the fourth and final buoy, Alba slipped up and crashed. The Moreno twins immediately moved in as did Jaggi and Muldoon. After that, the leading ladies made no mistakes and it was Junko Nagoshi who won her second Super X final, before Iballa Moreno in second, Daida Moreno in third, Karin Jaggi in fourth and Astrid Muldoon in fifth.

In the early evening, round 4 was completed as well. Most striking moment in this round was the start of heat # 4 in which all but two riders (Kauli Seadi and Tine Slabe) jumped the gun and were disqualified. The men’s final featured Matt Pritchard (US-10, Tabou/ Gaastra), Kevin Pritchard (US-3, Starboard/ MauiSails), Robby Swift (K-89, JP/ Neil Pryde), Nik Baker (K-66, Mistral/ North), Nicolas Akgazciyan (F-400, Neil Pryde), Taty Frans (NB-9, Starboard/ MauiSails), John Skye (K-57, F2), Victor Fernandez (E-42, Fanatic), Remko de Weerd (H-23, Fanatic/ Gaastra) and Kauli Seadi (BRA-253, Quatro/ Naish).

All riders cleared the first jump without incident before rounding buoy number one. Matt Pritchard was quickest around the corner, followed by Taty Frans who seems to have the the whole Super X business down pretty well. Remko de Weerd duckjibed his way into third position, followed by Nik Baker and Robby Swift. Swift made up for going over early in round three by sailing straight into the final of round four. Time for the first spock of the course and Remko de Weerd went down, having to watch John Skye, Nik Baker and Robby Swift scream passed him. Pritchard and Frans were still firmly holding onto their first and second place. After the forward loops, Skye lost his third position to Swift who was being chased by Baker and Kevin Pritchard, who had fought his way into fifth position. Again, it came down to the dreaded spock stretch. First to try and fail was Pritchard, followed by Frans also going down. Swift broke the cycle and landed his spock flawlessly, but then Baker and Kevin Pritchard crashed out again. In the aftermath, Matt Pritchard was still first to sail away from it all, taking his second Super X victory in Lanzarote. Taty Frans hadn’t let go of his second place, with Swift finishing third. Kevin Pritchard was back on his board again before Baker and took fourth, while Baker had to settle for the fifth slot.

In the round 4 women’s final it was mayhem right from the start, as Karin Jaggi went down at the first jump causing a major pile up involving Daida Moreno, Astrid Muldoon, Silvia Alba and Emma Johansson (S-37, Fanatic). Speeding away from the first buoy after the dust settled was Iballa Moreno in first, Junko Nagoshi in second and Karin Jaggi recovered to third place. At the second buoy Iballa Moreno bit the dust. Nagoshi took over the lead, but was then overtaken by Jaggi. Rounding the third buoy in first position was Jaggi, then Nagoshi, Iballa Moreno and her sister Daida. The twins the slipped up, first Iballa in the third duckjibe, then Daida crashing over the second jump. On the last stretch to the finish Jaggi sailed straight to her second victory. Nagoshi came in second before Daida Moreno. Astrid Muldoon had battled her way into fourth place and Silvia Alba came in fifth, after clearing the final jump right beside Iballa Moreno, who crashed and left the door open for Alba.

After four completed rounds, the men’s fleet is commanded by Matt Pritchard (US-10, Tabou/ Gaastra). Cyril Moussilmani (F-71, Fanatic) is in second place, Kevin Pritchard (US-3, Starboard/ MauiSails) holds the third spot, Nik Baker (K-66, Mistral/ North) is in fourth position and Robby Swift (K-89, JP/ Neil Pryde) claims fifth place. In the women’s rankings Junko Nagoshi (J-11) has the lead before Karin Jaggi (Z-14, F2), Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North), Daida Moreno (E-64, Mistral/ North) and Silvia Alba (E-67, Tabou/ Gaastra).

Tomorrow is the final day of Super X at the Lanzarote Costa Teguise PWA Grand Slam 2005. Forecasts are looking promising, so stay tuned to to find out who will win the 2005 PWA Super X crown.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.