Windsurfing Magazine





Samsung Mobile Indoor Windsurfing – Day 2

Sunday April 16, 2006

After two days of fastmoving indoor action the overall winners of the Samsung Mobile Indoor Windsurfing have collected their trophies in Ghent, Belgium. Before it came to that however, the riders had to give it their all in front of the large crowd of spectators.

At 1400 sharp the fans came to life for the freestyle competition in which Ben Proffitt (K-800, Fanatic/ Simmer Sails), Jose Estredo (V-1, Fanatic/ North Sails), Douglas Diaz (V-34, Fanatic/ North) and Thomas Traversa (F-3, Tabou/ Gaastra) tricked their way into the finals. Proffitt provided a note of originality today with two ‘regular’ chachoo attempts, not making them but still earning respect from the spectators. Meanwhile it was Jose Estredo (V-1, Fanatic/ North Sails) who was most radical of them all, with his trademark high-powered shaka’s coming in. Douglas Diaz (V-34, Fanatic/ North) came in second before Thomas Traversa (F-3, Tabou/ Gaastra) in third.

In the women’s finals the girls kicked up some spray with flawless moves such as Silvia Alba’s (E-67) spock and a picture perfect grubby by Karin Jaggi (Z-14, F2/ North Sails). The final outcome was superclose, but in the end the victory went to Jaggi, before Alba who got second and Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North Sails) who had to settle for the bronze medal.

Be 06 ramp start
Courtesy of PWA/Alex Williams

In the slalom contest, the men’s final was between Kauli Seadi (BRA-253, Quatro/ Naish) and Josh Angulo (CV-1). Seadi and Angulo were too fast for Kevin Mevissen (H-79, JP/ Neil Pryde) and Robert Teritehau (F-2000, North Sails) in the semi-final. Knowing it would be his final run in the slalom competition, the madman from New Caledonia exited the pool in style with a full speed jump out of the water and into the platform. In the final, the current world wave champion took an early lead over Angulo, which he never gave up. Things got a little tense for Seadi when he went down at the very last mark, but Angulo was too far behind to catch up with the Brazilian.

The women’s final between Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North Sails) and Karin Jaggi (Z-14, F2/ North Sails) looked like smooth sailing for Moreno, who led the way from the first buoy onwards seemingly heading for victory. But disaster struck at the last turn, when Moreno crash and couldn’t recover in time to stay ahead of Jaggi. Jaggi gratefully took advantage and claimed the win.

Be 06 Bra105 gose high
Courtesy of PWA/Alex Williams

Last up was the jumping contest. In the first rounds, Marcilio Browne (BRA-105, Naish/ Naish) picked up where he left off yesterday with three massive jumps all scoring 25 points or more. Right on his tail was his fellow countryman Kauli Seadi (BRA-253, Quatro/ Naish), who blasted out two big pushloops, but as he didn’t score on his third jump, it wasn’t enough for the wave champ to advance to the final. The final would eventually be a standoff between Marcilio Browne (BRA-105, Naish/ Naish), John Hibbard (K-007, Starboard), Yannick Anton (F-8) and Thomas Traversa (F-3, Tabou/ Gaastra). Anton opened the score with a near perfect 26.5 point pushloop. Traversa tweaked his way to the top with a stylish twisted table top, followed by a massive forward. And while Browne couldn’t get into the swing of things in the final, Anton stunned the crowds with a big double forward attempt, not fully making the landing but still good enough for 25 points and the win for the day.

Last but not least, the women’s jumping final went to Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North Sails), who dominated the event with some of the biggest forwards of the contest, as she did in the final. Second place was for Karin Jaggi (Z-14, F2/ North Sails) who pulled off two impressive table tops. Silvia Alba (E-67) went home with third prize today.

Be 06 Iballa forward
Courtesy of PWA/Alex Williams

In the overall rankings, the men’s jumping title goes to Marcilio Browne (BRA-105, Naish/ Naish), before Thomas Traversa (F-3, Tabou/ Gaastra) in second and Yannick Anton (F-8). The Samsung Mobile Indoor Windsurfing women’s jumping title goes to Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North Sails), with Karin finishing in second and Silvia Alba (E-67) taking third.

Jose Estredo (V-1, Fanatic/ North Sails) claims the overall men’s freestyle victory. Second place goes to Douglas Diaz (V-34, Fanatic/ North) and third to Kevin Mevissen (H-79, JP/ Neil Pryde). In the women’s division first prize goes to Karin Jaggi (Z-14, F2/ North Sails), second to Silvia Alba (E-67) and third place to Iballa Moreno (E-63, Mistral/ North Sails).

Rounding up the overall rankings is the slalom in which Kauli Seadi (BRA-253, Quatro/ Naish) wins the gold, Robert Teritehau (F-2000, North Sails) the silver and Kevin Mevissen (H-79, JP/ Neil Pryde) another third prize.

All results are posted below. In two weeks time, the PWA circus moves back outdoors for the first freestyle event of the season in Podersdorf, Austria. All top names are expected to attend, so stay tuned to for all the latest on that and other events.



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.