Windsurfing Magazine





Get ready for the Red Bull Storm Chase!

The contestants are chosen, summer’s over, we’re ready for the storm!

From the first of September 22 windsurfers in 9 European countries will be ready to chase the storm of the century in the Red Bull Storm Chase! The riders will be on stand by between the first of September and the 15th of November; as soon as the wind gets as strong as 10 Beaufort or more in one of the regions the action will kick off!

The participants were elected through internet voting; the Storm Chase website received over 60.000 votes from more that 100 countries. Feedback from windsurfers all around the world and the high level of sailors who made it to the top five made us decide to double the number of available tickets per region. Now two in stead of one sailor will battle it out with the elements. There’s one exception: in Scotland three windsurfers will chase the storm: Quatro Hawaii will try to fly in current wave world champion Kauli Seadi for a session together with the number one and two of this region.

Besides a briefing film, all riders will receive some high standard equipment for the event:

” A highly functional material bag especially designed by Chiemsee for the Red Bull Storm Chase
” A three layer jacket to withstand the storm
” A Suunto t6 training watch with GPS and Smartbelt. The watch will measure the rider’s speed and pulse, something never before integrated in a windsurf film.

The website will constantly supply both riders and public with the current storm status, the final ‘GO’ will be given one day before the storm hits Ireland. And when it does… buckle up and get ready for some insane windsurf action!

For those who want to be even closer to the action: click on to subscribe to the Red Bull Storm Chase news letters.

The most important dates:

Stand by period:
First of September until the 15th of November

DVD release:
December 2006

Who are the riders?
Belgium: Filip Loosvelt, Tom Scheirlinck
Denmark: Robert Sand, Mads Björna
Germany Baltic Sea: Matze Bade, Normen Günzlein
Germany Baltic Sea east: Oskar Hollmann, Jan-Mark Möde
Germany North Sea: Klaas Voget, Royal T.S. / Torben Sonntag
Ireland: Timo Mullen, Oisin van Gelderen
Holland: Peter Volwater, Kevin Mevissen
Norway: Hans-Kristian Waarum, Orian Jensen
Scotland: John Hibbard, Stephen Moore
Sweden: Kristoffer Living, Emma Johansson
Great Britain: Ben Proffitt, Phil Horrocks



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.