Windsurfing Magazine






Sunday was the finals as the best freestylers in the world set to face off for the big win.  The heats were very intense with a high level of competition. The winds started off fresh for the heats. One of the best heats of the morning was the dual between Arthuro “Payo”Soleano and Kiri Thode. Their rapid succession of moves was almost too much for the announcers to keep track of. Some of the moves with crazy names included a Double Matrix and a Sleepy Hollow (clew first heli tack into a duck in the boom), Hoss Tacks, and some switch stance moves including Kiri’s signature, the Gecko Flaka.

In the 10-11 year old boys final Amada Vrieswijk (BON) and Nick Von den Eereben (AUA) went off against each other executing some sick moves. Nick threw an Ankle Biter while Amado returned with Seated Tack. Nick attempted a Boomerang. There was a dizzy array of combinations including a Fin First Board Jibe with some amazing combinations including Nick’s Clew First Sail Spin, a Combo Pirouette Hoss Tack and a flawless Body Sail 360 for Amado.

Youp Schmidt faced off against Dylan Robles. Youp displayed a Switch Stance Duck Jibe right around the bouy into a One Handed Gecko. Dylan threw back a One Handed Upwind Tack in the footstraps. The heat was adrenaline packed from start to finish.

For the 13-15 year olds Dieter van der Eyken set off against Bonaire’s own Bjorn Saragoza in the finals.   Both evenly matched with same gear and body size had succession of supe moves including a Back To Sail No Hands for Bjorn with Dieter returning with a Sail Flip Gecko. Bjorn dazzled the crowd with a Rail Ride with No Hands.

The Baby Class was the hit of the day. Sarginho Finies and Nathan Finies advanced after showing constant sail maneuvers including the ONLY jump thru the boom accomplished by Sarginho. The only US competitor was Nicolas Sanchez from Florida. This 7 year old is preparing for his windsurf career by attending his first freestyle competition. What a place to learn how to compete. The energy of the baby class was completely contagious. The bay was chock full of wee ones and their parents and coaches creating a dynamic energy. The Baby Class Fleet grew to 33 sailors this year.

The Classic Freestyle Expression session featured some old school sailors showing off some old school moves, Brian Talma and Andy Brandt showed off their old school tricks whilst Bonaireans Caesar Finies  and Charlton Soliano showed off their new school talent. There were lots of jumps, spins and laughs.

As the day progressed and the scoring was completed the crowd was treated to a concert by the popular Aruba Rap Band Basic 1. Event Director Elvis Martinus introduced a new rap song Wind Warriors written by Elvis and Taty. The spectator crowd crew and the event site was jumping. A body building contest and fashion show provided further entertainment. The Award Ceremony featured the lead sponsors on hand to celebrate the win in all the categories. Handcrafted Starboard Tiki Plaques, Digicel goodies, Starboard Rash Guards, Dakine harnesses, Red Bull and other prizes were given to the winners. As the sun set with the Red Feather Drum Line playing the spirits remained high and new found friends exchanged information to keep in touch promising to meet back for next year.


AUA = Aruba  CUR= Curacao BON= Bonaire  

Amateur Women

1st Hilde Tuinbeek CUR

Amateur Men

1st. Caesar Finies BON

2nd Charlton Soliano BON

3rd Quincy Offringa AUA

Classic Freestyle

1st Caesar Finies

2nd Andy Brandt USA

3rd Brian Talma Barbados


Baby Kids Girls 0-7

1st. Blana Veeris BON

2nd Chloe Da Costa Gomez CUR

3rd Alima Lageveen AUA


Baby Kids Boys 0-7

1st Nathan Finies BON

2nd Jules Van Der Horst CUR

3rd Sarginho Finies BON

Girls 8-9

1st Anais Pauletta BON

2nd Esther Van Zadelhoff CUR

3rd Noa Stomp CUR

Boys 8-9

1st Jurgen Saragoza BON

2nd Steven Lageveen AUA

3rd Mack Dylan Van Der Eerenbe AUA


Girls 10-11

1st Camile Van Zadelhoff CUR

2nd Isabelle Van Zadelehoff CUR

3rd Ana De Windt CUR

Boys 10-11

1st Amado Vrieswijk BON

2. Nick Van Der Eerenbe AUA

3rd Jamil Jonis BON


Girls 12-13

1st Renee Kanaar CUR

Boys 12-13


1st Youp Schmidt BON

2nd Dylan Robles BON

3rd Mozart Sances BON


Girls 14-15

1st Mallory De Palm CUR

2nd Nadia Daboussi BON

3rd Monica Harmsen  CUR


Boys 14-15

1st Bjorn Saragoza BON

2nd Dieter Van Der Eyken Belgium

3rd Felix Kervel AUA


Girls 16-17

1st Sarah Quita Offringa AUA

2nd Andrea Simal BON

3rd Andreina Figaroa BON


Boys 16-17

1st Kiri Thode BON

2nd Arthuro Soliano BON

3rd Archuendro Finies BON


Queen of Pro Kids 2007

Sara Quita Offringa AUA


King of Pro Kids 2007

Kiri Thode BON



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.