Juliano Scalabrin crowned Kona World Champion 2010 - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Juliano Scalabrin crowned Kona World Champion 2010

Kona Windsurfing report from Miami Beach, Florida, 1-7 November 2010…

Racing at Miami

The 2010 Kona Worlds became a spectacular event with 83 competitors from 11 nations and three continents. The conditions were demanding and varied from day to day with winds from 7 to 28 knots, shifting from onshore with 2 meter swells to gusty side offshore and flat waters. Twelve races were planned and race director Darren Rogers kept his schedule to perfection.

Juliano Scalabrin, Brazil, Adam Holm, Sweden and Dominique Valle, Canada stood out from the crowd early – scoring bullets and top 5 positions throughout the event, and it became clear that the trio would occupy the podium, but in what order. Only 3 points separated them before the last day with two races remaining with Juliano in the lead, followed by Dominique and Adam. It ended in spectacular fashion with blue skies and 20 knots. It was a thriller and Adam Holm closed the gap even further by winning the first race of the day, but he was closely followed by Juliano in second, while Monique”only” finished 5th. It was all down to the last race. Juliano kept his nerves and ended the championships like he started; with an impressive bullet. CONGRATULATIONS TO A VERY WORTHY WORLD CHAMPION. Adam cruised to a second, just ahead of Dominique, but enough to secure the silver medal.


Top 10;

1. Juliano Scalabrin, Brazil

2. Adam Holm, Sweden

3. Dominique Valle, Canada

4. Carl Sjoeberg, Sweden

5. Bjorn Holm, Sweden

6. Dennis Winstanley, Australia

7. Stuart Gilbert, Australia

8. Ulf Antonsson, Sweden

9. Helene Andreatta, France

10. Joachim Larsson, Sweden

Not surprisingly the Swedes dominated with 5 sailors among the top 10 to win the team trophy.

It was an event powered by enthusiasm and friendship, with competitors from all over the world. – and with a strong presence of the Kona spirit.

Joachim Larsson, brand owner; “We do not speak about equipment, but instead we discuss our mistakes at the race course and share our experiences when it comes to tuning. It’s an important issue, and I really like that.”

The class again proved its unique versatility, with 4 different weight groups finishing among the top five, and with the growing attendance of girls (30%) giving the men a run for their money. With equal opportunities for all in a mixed fleet – the Kona Class celebrates the over-all winner as the only official champion, but award the winners of the weight groups individually.


1. Dominique Valle, Canada

2. Helene Andreatta, France

3. Kajsa Larsson, Sweden

Cadets; (U15)

1. Maximo Nores, USA

2. Jonathan Rudich, USA

3. Lucas Gonzales, USA

Light weight;

1. Martin Bertelsson, Sweden

2. Clara Baumann, Sweden

3. Pia Baumann, Sweden

Light Medium weight;

1. Juliano Scalabrin, Brazil

2. Adam Holm, Sweden

3. Ulf Antonsson, Sweden

Medium weight;

1. Bjorn Holm, Sweden

2. Dennis Winstanley, Australia

3. Joachim Larsson, Sweden

Heavy weight;

1. Carl Sjoeberg, Sweden

2. Stuart Gilbert, Australia

3. Steve Gottlieb, USA

Florencia and Miami Yacht Club

Our sincere thanks goes to Miami Yacht Club, and Florencia Barletta for the great hospitality and astonishing amount of work put into these championships. To sail and compete directly on the majestic South Miami Beach was something none of us will forget. Establishing a camp on this vast public beach was a bold but luminous idea, creating a great atmosphere and making us feel privileged.

For more info and pictures, go to www.kona-windsurfing.com/onedesign-class.asp

See you all in Copenhagen 2011


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.