Pozo Wrap Up - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Pozo Wrap Up

The final day of competition in Pozo brought conditions just good enough to hold the contest. Strong winds, but small waves rolled through Pozo bay as the men’s elimination and women’s finals took place.

John Skye, backloop, PWA Pozo 2014. Image credit PWA/John Carter.

More big names fell through the men’s single, with a lot of close heats and split decisions. The biggest story of all could go to Ricardo Campello who knocked out Philip Koster, despite sailing with 11 stitches in his foot. Campello went all the way through to the final where he faced an on fire Victor Fernandez. Campello couldn’t come close to Fernandez, who won with a magnificent display of Pozo wavesailing.

Victor Fernandez winning in Pozo. Image credit PWA/JC.

Trials sailed Jaeger Stone took down vice world champion Alex Mussolini in the first round and continued all the way through to the losers final where he faced, but lost out to Marcilio Browne.

With only a single elimination completed there are a lot of tied placings through the fleet. Everyone who was knocked out in round one has =19th (including Adam Lewis and Ben Proffitt), for example. So whilst many maybe disappointed with their early exits, at least many are in a similar position.

John Skye fared the best of the Brits, taking a well-earned 5th position, pushing Marcilio Browne all the way, but just losing out. Robby Swift was next in line, taking 9th place, just losing to Allesio Stillrich as Swift failed to rack up the jump scores.

After a frustrating first competition of the year all eye will be on Tenerife in a few weeks time as many riders will look to prove their worth at the next PWA world tour. Before the next wave contest though the best slalom and freestyle competitors will battle it out in Fuerteventura.

PWA Gran Canaria Results

– check the full results on the PWA site.


1st Victor Fernandez

2nd Ricardo Campello

3rd Marciio Browne

4th Jaeger Stone


5th John Skye

9th Robby Swift

19th Ben Proffitt

19th Adam Lewis



1st Daida Moreno

2nd Iballa Moreno

3rd Steffi Wahl

4th Amanda Beenen


5th Justyna Sniady

9th Sarah Bibby


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.