WINDSURFER OF THE YEAR 2007 IS... - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine




Bryony Shaw (Windsurfer of the Year 2007) and Ian Jones (present Chairman of the UKWA) – photo by Simon Crowther

Windsurfer of the Year 2007

The highlight of the UKWA Awards evening, staged at the Sandbanks Hotel on Saturday 11th November, was the presentation of the 2007 Windsurfer of the Year – to Bryony Shaw.

Bryony has trained long and hard to represent Great Britain at the Beijing Olympics, and this year she capped an illustrious campaign by winning Gold at the pre-Olympic sailing regatta. Other nominations were: Zara Davis ( Speed ) and Ross Williams (All-rounder!).

A new prize was presented this year – the Dave Gayda Award, for service to the sport. There could be no more deserving recipient than the Ingram family – and what a fantastic reaction when the announcement was made! Dave is an artist, a painter, and a pretty good one! He has offered to donate an original painting each year for this Award.

The third major presentation of the evening was the Techno Cup, awarded for outstanding achievement in Junior racing. It was also the opportunity for 2 of this year’s outstanding achievers to take centre stage together. Sam Sills (2007 under 15 World Champion) was presented the trophy by Ali Masters (2007 under 17 World Champion) last year’s recipient.

Many others to thank including officials, sponsors and competitors; Sunsail for donating a holiday for 2 in Antigua, and to event organisers – Allan Cross (Fat Face), Ian Kraft (Eastbourne Extreme) & Chris Lewis (Tenby Welsh Cup), BOARDS Magazine (and especially Fred Willis) for his support of the Freewave programme, Boardseeker and Louise Emery, and Windsurf Magazine for 6 annual subscriptions.

Congratulations to all the champions, and to the winners in every class division.

Freestyle: Andy Chambers
Slalom: Alan Jackson
Speed: (Male) Nigel Spriggs and (Female) Linda Cleary
Wave: John Hibbard & Louise Emery
Formula: Keith Atkinson & Jo Wright
Raceboard: Tom Naylor.& Janet Pain
RSX : Ed Strange. & Kirsten O’Callaghan
Techno: Ali Masters & Izzy Hamilton

For full Ranking lists and all event results go to


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.