Champions Of '09 - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Champions Of ’09

UKWA 2009 Windsurfing Champions:

The UKWA’s 2009 programme of competitions recently drew to a close, enabling the Series Winners and UK Champions to be decided.

2009 has been a very successful season for UKWA Course Racing with an Inland Series Entry of 190 plus 60 juniors and a Cup Series entry of 219. The largest fleets in both series were Techno and Raceboard, 74 and 58 respectively in the Inlands and 74 and 62 in the Cup, highlighting the long-awaited revival in the fortunes of raceboard in the UK.

Course Racing:

UKWA 2009 Inland Series Overall Fleet winners:

RS:X:  Charlie Money                                    Formula: Keith Atkinson

Raceboard: Mark Kay                                    7.8 Techno: Jade Rogers

6.8 Techno: Adam Purcell                                    3.5 Open: Issac Bradley-Baker

4.5 Open: Sarah Labourne                                    5.5 Open: Cameron Coghill

UKWA Cup Series Overall Fleet winners and UK Champions:

RS:X Youth & Overall: George Bowles            RS:X Open: Tom Eskdale

RS:X Girl: Kate Strange

Formula Youth & Overall: Richard Jones               Formula Open: Liam Round

Formula National: Chris Bond                        Formula Free: Martin Allman

Raceboard Overall: Robert Kent                        Raceboard Unlimited: Andy Mexome

Raceboard Lady: Annette Kent                        Raceboard Youth: Christopher Guest

7.8 Techno: Stuart Hards                                    7.8 Techno Girl: Laurel Townsend

6.8 Techno: Robert York                                    6.8 Techno Girl: Saskia Sills

UKWA 2009 Slalom Series Winners:

Challenge Fleet: Simon Bostock            Challenge Lady: Marie Buchanan

Top Flight: Matt Perch                        Top Flight Youth: Richard Jones

Top Flight Master: Fred Willis

UKWA 2009 Wave Sailing Series:

Overall winner and 2009 UK Wave Sailing Champion: Jamie Hancock

UKWA 2009 Speed Championship:

Although Speed Week was a successful and enjoyable event, because of the fickle winds there were not enough high speed runs for the event to qualify as a Championship, so there is no UK Speed Champion this year. However, in compensation, Zara Davis did win the European Ladies’ Speed Championship!

UKWA Freestyle Championship:

The Championship, which was held at White Air, also suffered from insufficient wind and consequently there is no UK Freestyle Champion for 2009.

UKWA Windsurfer of the Year 2009:

This prestigious award went to Sam Sills, current World Champion and European Champion in the Techno 7.8 Class. Sam is shown with his magnificent trophy.

Techno Young Windsurfer of the Year 2009:

This award, which Sam has previously won, went to his sister Saskia Sills, current World Techno 6.8 Girls Champion.

The awards for the 2009 season were presented at the UKWA Annual Party on Sat 14 November at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel, Rutland.

A full list of all award winners can be found on the UKWA website at:


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.