Rio Worlds Formula Festival 2010 report - Boards Windsurfing

Windsurfing Magazine



Rio Worlds Formula Festival 2010 report

1st master and second overall, Leonardo Rebello

The Rio Worlds Formula Festival was a great windsurfing week in Araruama lake, 90km north of Rio de Janeiro. The event started with the Brazilian FE National Championships with almost 60 racers flying on the course in winds from 12 to 20 knots. The local sailor Leonardo Rebello finished in 1st place, followed by Marcello Morrone and Fernando Bocciarelli.

The Brazilian Championship was an warm up for the World Championship and the things became really hot during the week with gusts of 32 knots blowing from north east! 15 races completed and a very well disputed event took place in Araruama. Nicolas Schreier and Leonardo Rebello were knit close in the score sheet until the last day of competition for the Open title. In all other divisions the sailors changed positions all the time in an exciting championship indeed. In the end, Nicolas took his 3rd World Title in a row, followed by Leonardo Rebello and Fernando Bocciarelli from Brazil.

All the sailors were invited to a Brazilian barbecue feast in the prize giving ceremony. At the party the organizers raffled a full Formula Experience package! The World Champion Nicolas Schreier took home not only the 1st place prize but also a Severne Blue Line mast! His team mates Carolina Butrich and Sebastian Aguirre were lucky too to get a Severne Alu Race boom and a Severne Overdrive sail. Christina Matoso from Brazil won a Severne HD Extension and nothing less than a Starboard Formula Experience board was raffled to Bruna Martinelli who was racing with a borrowed board. Very fair!

In the FE fleet we had sailors from Under 15 to Grand Master divisions, not forgetting the women fleet who managed the equipment with no problems under sometimes extreme situations. Here the division’s trophies at the FE World Championships 2010.


1- Nicolas Schreier PER 2

2- Leonardo Rebello BRA 121

3- Fernando Bocciarelli BRA 174


1- Carolina Butrich PER 22

2- Christina Matoso Maia BRA 28

3- Bruna Martinelli BRA 49


1- Breno Francioli BRA 7000

2- Thomas Villalobos BRA 1995

3- Felipe Valdivia CHI 37


1- Leonardo Venturini BRA 114

2- Bebeko Maia BRA 1313

3- Gabriel Bastos BRA 127

Youth (U20)

1- Sebastian Aguirre PER 7

2- Santiago Canseco PER 27

3- Igor Ferreira BRA 1811


1- Nicolas Schreier PER 2

2- Fernando Bocciarelli BRA 174

3- Eduardo Herman CHI 2


1- Leonardo Rebello BRA 121

2- Alexandre Neves BRA 221

3- Marcello Morrone BRA 3

Gran Master

1- Almyr Barros BRA 44

2- Jose Mello BRA 21

3- Vicente Barreto BRA 323

And that’s not all. The Rio Worlds 2010 defined also 2 other World Titles in Formula Windsurfing class. The best Youth and Masters sailors disputed in Rio the ISAF medals. The Brazilians took both titles with Gabriel Browne in Youth and Mathias Pinheiro in the Master’s division. Here the podiums:

FW Youth:

1- Gabriel Browne BRA 50

2- Jaciek Piasecki POL 13

3- Maciek Rutkowski POL 23

FW Master

1- Mathias Pinheiro BRA 5

2- Xavier Ferlet GBR 451

3- Massimo Masserini ITA 7


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.